Jess Thirlby names first England squad for Australia and New Zealand tour

Jess Thirlby has called her very first England squad as head trainer for its Vitality Roses’ tour of Oceania.
The team of 15 will journey to get a tournament that is behind-closed-doors later this month.
The team, which contains World Cup bronze-medallists Fran Williams and Natalie Panagarry, train and will play contrary to the development group in Canberra of Australia until either side travel to Auckland to confront the New Zealand One side.
“We’ve got some new faces inside the Roses programme today and this is a fantastic opportunity to expose those players to distinct styles of play and competition, whilst giving them the opportunity to learn from some of their more experienced team-mates,” said Thirlby.
“For instance, Natalie and Fran who had the most amazing chance to compete at the Vitality Netball World Cup earlier this year. It is very exciting to take this group on visit to Australia and New Zealand to compete against the equal ability that is emerging of both team.
“I’m very much looking forward to my very first international tour as head trainer of this Vitality Roses and can not wait for what the future holds with this particular team.”
England squad for Australia/New Zealand tour: Imogen Allison, Summer Artman, Eleanor Cardwell, Amy Carter, Sophie Drakeford-Lewis, George Fisher, Laura Malcolm, Gabby Marshall, Victoria Oyesola, Natalie Panagarry, Jessica Shaw, Kate Shimmin, Olivia Tchine, Razia Quashie, Fran Williams.
England have named their group to the Europe Open, which sees them perform with Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland and Wales .
England Netball futures coach Sam Bird will lead the England side, alongside Emily Perry as assistant coach.
England team for Europe Open: Halimat Adio, Rebekah Airey, Iona Christian, Zara Everitt (vice-captain), Funmi Fadoju, Ally Housley, Berri Neil, Jasmin Odeogberin, Yasmin Parsons (captain), Emilia Roscoe, Kira Rothwell, Sienna Rushton.
Live netball is back on your screens in October with the Fast5 All Stars Championship.

Read more here: