List of NCAA Division I men’s basketball champions

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I Men’s Basketball Tournament is a single-elimination Championship for men’s college basketball teams from the United States.

It decides the champion of Division I, the very best level of play at the NCAA, along with the press frequently describes the winner because the national winner of college basketball. [2][3] The NCAA Tournament was held annually since 1939, and its area grew from eight teams in the start to sixty-five teams by 2001; instead of 2011, sixty-eight teams get involved in the tournament. Teams may gain invitations by winning a conference tournament or receiving an at-large bid from a 10-person committee. The semifinals of the championship are known as the Final Four and so are held at a different city each year, along with the championship match; Indianapolis, the city in which the NCAA is established, will host the Final Four years until 2040. Each winning college receives a rectangular, gold-plated trophy made from wood.
The first NCAA Tournament was organized by the National Association of Basketball Coaches. Oregon won the inaugural tournament, beating Ohio State 46–33 in the first championship game. Before the 1941 championship, command of this event was given to the NCAA. In the first years of this championship, it was considered less significant than the National Invitation Tournament (NIT), a New York City-based event. ] Teams could compete in both events at precisely the exact same calendar year, and three of those who did thus –Utah in 1944, Kentucky in 1949, and City College of New York (CCNY) in 1950–won the NCAA Championship. The 1949–50 CCNY team won both tournaments (defeating Bradley in both finals), and is the only college basketball team to do this feat. [14] By the mid-1950s, the NCAA Championship became the more prestigious of the two events, and in 1971 the NCAA barred universities from playing in other tournaments, like the NIT, when they were invited to the NCAA Tournament. The 2013 championship won by Louisville was the very first men’s basketball national title to be vacated by the NCAA following the faculty and its trainer at the moment, Rick Pitino, were implicated in a 2015 sex scandal involving recruits.
The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) was the most successful college in the NCAA Tournament, winning 11 national titles. Ten of these championships came through a 12-year stretch from 1964 to 1975. UCLA also holds the record for the most consecutive championships, winning seven in a row from 1967 to 1973. Kentucky has the second-most names, together with eight. North Carolina is next with six championships, while Duke and Indiana follow five each. Virginia is the most recent winner, having defeated Texas Tech in the final of this 2019 tournament. Among head trainers, John Wooden is your one time pioneer with 10 championships; he coached UCLA throughout their period of succeeding from the 1960s and 1970s. Duke’s Mike Krzyzewski is second all-time with five names.

Read more: